Tuscaloosa Christian Writers Group Provides Critical Support To My Writing

Members of the Tuscaloosa Christian Writers Group
We had a small group of just 10 (including me) at the June 2016 meeting. I’m glad I captured this photo. Our June 2016 meeting was a power-packed session of debriefing on the most recent Southern Christian Writers Conference and setting summer writing goals.

Six years ago this summer I attended my very first meeting of The Tuscaloosa Christian Writers Group.

Then President Betty Fields invited me to come after attending my session at The Southern Christian Writers Conference in June 2010.

At our most recent meeting June 28, it was announced that Tuscaloosa Christian Writers Group will be 30 years old this coming January.

I am glad to have been a part of six years of that 30-year history.   That’s at least 40 or 50 meetings, three dozen guest speakers and a whole lot of writing skills handouts.   I am pleased to have presented at least twice to the group.

In the Tuscaloosa Christian Writers, I have found a wonderful network of enthusiastic writers who were right here in town and excited about all of things we had learned at the Southern Christian Writers Conference, which is hosted at Tuscaloosa’s First Baptist Church each June.

Now I have a network that helps me achieve all of the goals I had set for myself as a writer.

What I loved most about this group was that we were all Christians and we loved people just for being people.

I find myself enjoying the fellowship as much as I enjoyed the writers advice and insight.

The group has a great deal of diversity– different racial/ethnic groups, different generational stages,  different denominations.  Some of us write fiction while others write non-fiction.

Yet,  we all love God and the realize HE is the reason we’re able to do the writing that we do.

It is a joy to be a part of this group.  Even if there are months I am unable to attend, often due to conflicting meetings or classes or other events.   I can always come back to the “next” meeting and catch up.

We’ve had lot of NEW faces join us since 2010.   And, they’ve added so much to our organization.

I am looking forward to the upcoming 30th anniversary of the Tuscaloosa Christian Writers Group in 2017.

 

 

Author:

George L. Daniels is an associate professor of journalism at the University of Alabama. After spending eight years in the local television newsroom working as a producer at stations in Richmond, Virginia; Cincinnati, Ohio; and Atlanta, Georgia, Daniels moved from the newsroom to the classroom. He’s conducted research on diversity issues in the media workplace and change in the television newsroom as well as media convergence. Before going to work in television news, Daniels worked briefly as a freelance writer for The Richmond Free Press in his hometown of Richmond, Va.

2 thoughts on “Tuscaloosa Christian Writers Group Provides Critical Support To My Writing

  1. George, you are a blessing to this group. Your presence — and your presentations — have enriched all of us! Looking forward to at least another 30 years!

    Like

  2. George, you add so much enthusiasm and talent to the Writers Group. Always a joy to see you. Betty H. Fields

    Like

Leave a Reply

