Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

Did my title get your attention? Whoa, that’s a tough one to spell!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you remember Mary Poppins, once hired as a nanny, she takes the children on magical adventures. We are right there with her and the musical lyrics by Richard and Robert Sherman.

We love her. Mary’s the answer to a prayer in a “most peculiar way.”   After all, Mary knows that anything can happen if you let it…

Let’s dream big – just for fun

Um diddle diddle  diddle um diddle ay/Um diddle diddle um diddle ay/ So when the cat has got your tongue/There’s no need for dismay/Just summon up this word/And then you’ve got a lot to say/But better use it carefully/Or it may change your life/One night I said it to me girl /And now me girl’s my wife!/She’s supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!/Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious! *

 

I’ve been a member of the SCWC for about 15 years! Yes, time flies.  In that time, I have attended the Southern Christian Writers Conference most of those years and our monthly gatherings at the court house downtown.  I still use some of the books I bought. I saved almost all of the print -outs from the various sessions.

About that time, I began to take writing seriously. It was a good 20 years after I wrote my college play-musical, acted and danced in it.  And, it’s never too late to pick up where we left off and start fresh.   My mentor and bestie from high school, already an editor and writer, encouraged my path along with my Christian writers club members, who cheer all of us on with helpful hints.

I took a stab at it and wrote my first published article, “The Liberry Girls,” It was my life story in a nutshell and it got published in a top tier magazine. I got noticed and I got work.

I wrote articles as a feature writer for the University of Alabama’s two alumni magazines and eventually got to be a staff writer for Prime Life Style of Alabama Magazine as a travel editor.  Sometimes I only travelled to a local event, but, I got to learn things about the goings on in Northport and Tuscaloosa.  From there, I wrote many other articles on different subjects, new publications which lead me to writing as a consumer electronics tech reporter. I am asked to test product and to write reviews.  I have 2 blogs now to share.  : http://www.techiegems.net and http://www.storiesbypunkydemure.com.

I still write essays and I’m going to be published for the 3rd time in Birmingham Arts Journal in an upcoming issue.   Sweet!  I’ve been blessed to have won 3 awards from SCWC from 2005 – 2009; 1 award 2nd place on “A Tribute to 9/11 Heroes,” FOCUS (National and Community Service, 2012.

To wind this down, I am always learning something from my Christian writer friends, the world, and all living creatures who need us to write and speak for them when they cannot.  The mission of a writer comes from our unique journey and the spiritual walk each of us takes.

What will I write next?  I’ve got something I published years ago and I’m about to spin it and revive it for today’s market.  Happy writings and meditations to all.

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!!  I’ll have a spoonful of sugar – please!

*Mary Poppins lyrics

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

Leave a Reply

